Press "Enter" to skip to content

Annual Retirement Function 2020/2021

Annual Retirement Function 2020/2021Kerry Education and Training Board (Kerry ETB) was delighted to welcome back retirees from 2020 and 2021 to pay tribute to their dedication to our shared organisation on June 16th 2022.

The Kerry ETB Retirement Function is one of the year’s most meaningful events, as the evening allows the organisation to acknowledge the outstanding work and contribution retiring staff made to Kerry ETB. On June 16th, 33 staff from all areas of the organisation, from the Schools, Youth and Music Pillar, FET (Further Education and Training) and Organisation Support and Development, were celebrated; a collective c. 1,000 years of service.

At the event, Kerry ETB’s An Cathaoirleach, Cllr. Jim Finucane said: “We are honoured that so many of you could attend alongside your family, friends and former colleagues. We are also delighted to welcome many of our former senior management team to join us in this celebration.”

The evening marked the first time the organisation was in a position to run the event since 2019. Few could have predicted when the last event was held in December 2019 to celebrate the 2019 retirees what the next two years would hold. In her opening address, the Head of Human Resources, Ms Betty Corkey, took a moment to acknowledge all those personally affected by COVID-19, particularly those families and friends who might have experienced a loss.

Fondly remembered throughout the evening was former Killorglin Community College Principal, Mr Eric Brick, who passed away sadly on June 9th 2022. Acknowledging his passing, the Director of Schools Youth and Music, Ms Ann O’Dwyer, said: “Eric was a very popular colleague, he was hardworking, warm, gentle and kind, and we all remember him with great fondness.”

The event was attended by the celebrated retirees and their families and friends; they were joined by members of the Kerry ETB Board, the senior management team (current and former) and staff from the head office’s Executive Support Unit.

Thanks are shared with all those involved in the arrangements for the evening.

Well wishes are shared again with all 33 retirees:

Alice Kavanagh

Annette Lagan

Bernadette Corridan

Bill McConnell

Breda Ferris

Brigid Fitzmaurice

Carmel Kelly

Christy Enright

Donal Dowd

Eileen O’Leary

Emer O’Leary

Ian McGrigor

John Hoare

John Joe Roche

June Cournane

Karen Fitzgerald

Karena Constable

Kieran O’Callaghan

Maeve Tuohy

Margaret O’Sullivan

Margaret Riordan

Marian McElligott

Mary Lucey

Mary Moriarty O’Leary

Mary T. Galvin

Noel Raymond

P.J. Higgins

Paula O’Sullivan

Richard Lawlor

Ronnie Moore

Theresa Deane

Tim Leahy

Tomás Fitzmaurice



© 2024 Kerry Education and Training Board./Bord Oideachais agus Oiliúna Chiarraí. Registered Charity Number (RCN): 20083243. Web Design Kerry by Egg.
Becoming a Community National School Information Webinar Watch Here Seimineár Gréasáin faoin turas i dtreo Scoil Náisiúnta Phobal Féach anseo
This is default text for notification bar