Press "Enter" to skip to content
Local School Completion

Local School Completion

The School Completion Programme (SCP) aims to increase the numbers of children and young people staying in primary and second level school and in doing so improve the numbers of pupils who successfully complete the Senior Cycle, or equivalent.

The Programme provides a range of local interventions in disadvantaged schools and communities designed to support the retention of children and young people in education. It involves the targeting of in-school, after-school, out-of-school and holiday time supports towards children and young people who are at risk of disengagement and early school leaving. The SCP is a TUSLA, The Child and Family Agency, funded programme.

The desired impact of SCP is ‘the retention of a young person to completion of the Leaving Certificate, equivalent qualification or suitable level of educational attainment which enables them to transition into further education, training or employment.’

The intended outcomes of the Programme are improved school attendance, retention and participation.

SCP was established in 2002 as part of the Department of Education & Skills DEIS – ‘Delivering Equality of Opportunity in Schools’ strategy. SCP has been influenced by several legislations, strategies and policy developments in Ireland. These include:

  • Better Outcomes, Brighter Futures: National Policy Framework for Children and Yong People 2014-2020
  • TUSLA Corporate Plan 2018-2020
  • Action Plan for Education 2016-2019
  • DEIS Plan 2017
  • Statement of Strategy of School Attendance

SCP operates nationally in 470 primary schools and 224 post-primary schools. There are 124 local SCP projects employing 248 full-time, 627 part-time and 2,211 sessional and other staff. Each of the 124 local SCP projects is led by a Local Management Committee (LMC) comprising of school principals, HSCL co-ordinators, voluntary and statutory agencies. At a national level, SCP is supported by a national leadership team within the senior management team of Education Welfare Services (EWS) of TUSLA, with the responsibility for overseeing the operation and work of the local projects.

Kerry South SCP

Kerry South SCP was established in 2006/07 and has been managed by Kerry ETB. There are 7 schools in the cluster, 3 of which are Kerry ETB managed schools at post-primary level and 4 primary schools.

The schools are:

Tralee Educate Together National School, Oakpark, Tralee
Scoil Iognáid Rís, An Daingean
Mercy Moyderwell Primary, Moyderwell, Tralee
Presentation Primary, Upper Castle Street, Tralee
Killarney Community College
Killorglin Community College
Coláiste Gleann Lí, Clash, Tralee

Contact Kerry South SCP

Local Co-ordinator
Norma Thompson
Cόlaiste Gleann Lí
Clash Road
Co Kerry



Download Parent and Referring Agency Leaflets

© 2023 Kerry Education and Training Board./Bord Oideachais agus Oiliúna Chiarraí. Registered Charity Number (RCN): 20083243. Web Design Kerry by Egg.
Strategy Statement 2023-2027 – Building Your Future Read our statement Ráiteas Straitéise 2023-2027 – Ag Tógáíl Do Thodhchaí Léigh ár ráiteas
This is default text for notification bar